2015 Brings Return of India-Pakistan Bilateral Series

Pakistan and India FlagsIndia and Pakistan have agreed to play six series against each other over the next eight year, beginning in 2015. Since the Mumbai terrorist attacks in 2008, Pakistan and India have not played a full bilateral cricket series. Pakistan did participate in a short limited-overs series that took place in Indian towards the end of 2012. The last time that India went on a cricket tour in Pakistan was in 2006.

In 2015, Pakistan will host India for the first of the six series. The announcement came from the Pakistan Cricket Board, noting that it had signed an agreement with the Board of Cricket Control in India regarding the six bilateral series over the next eight years. Four of these series will be hosted by the Pakistan Cricket Board and will take place by agreement either in the UAE or in Pakistan.

The six tours were confirmed in a binding agreement as part of the Future Tours Programme and they will be played between 2015 and 2023. The agreement was made as part of a number of agreements for Pakistan in Melbourne, at the International Cricket Council’s annual meeting.

Muhammad Yousuf, a senor batsman and former captain of the Pakistand side, said: “In the past we have seen India backing out of such series due to political or other reasons. I just hope this time finally Pakistan and India resume playing regular series. Because it is important for development of the players and also brings in more money for the boards. The people of both countries want to see both teams playing and that is how it should be.”

Rashid Latif, a former captain for Pakistan has suggested that with the other changes that have taken place at this time and the concessions that were granted to the Pakistan Cricket Board, perhaps India will once again consider allowing players from Pakistan join the Indian Premier League.