2017 India Tour of Sri Lanka

By Dhanu Delphi on July 29, 2017

The India cricket team has begun its tour of Sri Lanka. This is the first time in eight years that India will complete a full tour of Sri Lanka. The tour will include three Tests, along with one T20 International, and five One-Day Internationals.

The team is led by its skipper Virat Kohli, and for the first time, the new team coach, Ravi Shastri, is traveling with the team.

The team has had a somewhat grueling schedule recently. Once the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 was over, the next stop was in the West Indies where India and the West Indies played five One-Day Internationals, and one T20. After that, the team traveled to Sri Lanka where the warm-up match took place on 21st and 22nd July, ahead of the upcoming Tests.

Schedule of Matches in Sri Lanka Tour

The first Test match began on 26th July at the Galle International Stadium, and will end on 30th July. At this time, it certainly appears that India has the upper hand.

The second Test is set to take place in Colombo from 3rd – 7th August, and on 12th August, the final Test will be played in Kandy, ending on 16th August.

The five One-Day International (ODI) games will be played as follows:

The T20 International is set to take place on 6th September in Colombo.

Upcoming Tours for the India National Team in 2017

In October this year, Australia will tour India. The two teams will play seven One-Day International matches and two T20 matches.

India will be touring South Africa between November 2017 and January 2018. The teams will play three Test matches, seven One-Day Internationals, and two T20s.