Agreement for More Five-Test Rubbers Between India and England

By Dhanu Delphi on July 3, 2014

India England FlagsThere have been a number of changes that are taking place in the Indian cricket world at this time. Included in these changes is the chance to play additional Test rubbers when playing against England. A number of changes are taking place since the recent meeting of the International Cricket Council that took place in Melbourne. N. Srinivasan was officially appointed as the head of the International Cricket Council at the meeting.

Sanjay Patel, the Cricket Board Secretary, explained that this year, India and England will be playing in a best of five cricket series beginning on 9th July. In the past, the two teams have played fewer Test rubbers. The new agreement regarding the number of Test series runs from 2015 until 2023.

Patel said: “It will be a five-Test series (at home and away) against England and four-match rubbers against Australia. Both England and Australia will play four Test series against us (home and away) in the next eight year cycle.”

The agreements regarding the number of Tests that will be played has been increased across the board. All the full Test playing member countries have agreed to an increased number of Tests.

According to the agreement, India will be hosting two home Test series per season. This could change if Australia chooses to exercise the right to hold the Boxing Day Test in Melbourne. If not, there will be two Test series taking place in India between October and March each year.

In the upcoming year, both South Africa, and then England will be visiting India to play both Test series and ODIs. England plans to split the India tour into two. The Tests will be played before the break for Christmas in 2015, and the One Day Internationals will be played when the players return to India early on in 2016.