Ajinkya Rahane to Lead Cricket Squad to Zimbabwe

Ajinkya RahaneAlthough Ajinkya Rahane had been dropped for the last two matches between India and Bangladesh, it has been announced that he will be leading the second string Indian squad to Zimbabwe.

It is now thought that Rahane was dropped for those games in order to be rested for the Zimbabwe series. There will be two T20 matches and three One Day Internationals (ODIs) when the Indian team is in Zimbabwe.

Murali Vijaywill be playing in the ODI team, along with Manish Pandey and Robin Uthappa. Harbhajan Singh, the veteran off spinner, is also being included in the Indian squad. Axar Patel, the left arm spinner, will be joining the team, as will the pace bowler, Sandeep Sharma.

Other team members that will be going to Zimbabwe are Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Kedar Jadav, Karm Sharma, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mohit Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Stuart Binny.

Harbhajan Singh has not played in an ODI squad in four years. He recently played well against Bangladesh in his Test comeback. The most recent ODI played by Harbhajan was against the West Indies in June 2011.

Sandeep Patil, the chief selector for the Indian team, had commented on the fact that India had not played so well in Bangladesh. When it came to light that Dhoni had offered to resign, the rumor-mill began to do its work.

Commenting on the media’s speculation that there had been a rift in the team, Patil explained: “Dhoni has only been rested. So don’t read much into Rahane becoming captain.”

At the same time that the ODI squad for Zimbabwe was named, the India A squad was also announced. The India A squad will be captained by Cheteshwar Pujara, and will be playing two four-day games against the Australia A squad. The two matches will take place from 22nd – 25th July, and 29th July – 1st August in Chennai.