Australia Ends India’s Winning Streak in 4th ODI

By Dhanu Delphi on September 28, 2017

The Indian cricket team has already won the five-match One Day International series against Australia. The Indian team won the first three out of five games, taking their ODI winning streak to nine matches in a row. With this win, Australia might not have won the ODI series, but they did stop India’s winning streak.

The match took place in the M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Australia Wins by 21 Runs

Australia ended the fourth ODI with 334/5 in 50 overs, while India lagged behind by 21 runs with 313/8 in 50 overs.

While the Indian team was chasing 335, the Australian team’s Kane Richardson managed to claim three wickets from the hosts. When Australia were batting, Warner reached 124 runs, helping give the team a solid total. This was Warner’s 100th ODI, and although the series may be lost, this was a great personal win for him, and the Australian team. Warner’s century was his 14th ODI hundred. Although the Australian player has been having a somewhat weak tournament, he hit four sixes and 12 boundaries.

In the final four overs, Australia dominated, allowing India only six runs in the 47th over, six runs in the 48th over, five runs in the 49th over, and seven runs in the 50th over.

India Could Not Consistently Keep Up

India started out strong with 53 runs by Rahane and 65 runs from Rohit. The 106 partnership took place in the first 18 overs. After that, the hosts were simply unable to keep up with the good start that had taken place. Sharma and Kohli were quickly dismissed.
Later, Jadhav made 67 runs and Pandey made 33, however, Dhoni was not able to was dismissed after only a few runs, and was unable to save the day.

Next ODI Match

The next ODI match between India and Australia is set to take place on 1st October 2017. The final ODI of the series in which India leads 3 – 1, will take place at the VCA Stadium in Jamtha.