Australia Wins First T20I in India

By Dhanu Delphi on February 26, 2019

BCCI & Cricket Australia flagThe Australian cricket team won the first T20 International on its tour of India. The visitors won the toss and chose to bowl first. India ended on 126/7 and Australia ended on 127/7, winning by three wickets. Australia leads the two-match T20I series by 1 – 0.

Rohit Sharma only managed five runs, while KL Rahul made a half century. Virat Kohli added 24 runs before being caught out by Nathan Coulter-Nile. Rishabh Pant was run out by Jason Behrendorff after only three runs. MS Dhoni added another 29 runs ending the match not out.

Virat Kohli Comments

India’s skipper, Virat Kohli, noted that his team was not up to task when it came to batting. He was, however, pleased with the team’s bowling. Jasprit Bumrah took three wickets within 16 runs.

The Indian team needed to post a total of at least 150 runs. However, they simply could not reach a good enough total to challenge the visitors. The Australians just made it over the line, beating the home team. Kohli noted that the Australian cricket team deserved this win.

Unexpected Result

After India’s excellent playing during their Australian tour, the team was the clear favorite playing at home. Although India had not set a good total, it still looked as if the team could win the match. Despite this frustrating loss for India, the match was exciting to watch.

It looked as if the India team would win even though their run total was under par. The visitors had a slow start with five runs and two players out.

Heading into the last over, it still appeared that the home team would win. Australia stepped up, making 14 runs in the last over with two runs off of the last ball.

The second T20I between India and Australia takes place in Bengaluru on 27th February 2019.