‘B’ Team Win World Billiards Team Championships

By Dhanu Delphi on August 17, 2014

Pankaj Advani - IndiaWhile it may have been a win-win situation for India, with both the India A team and the India B team in the finals of the World Billiards Team Championships, it was exciting to see which Indian team would be the victorious one. The India B team won the gold, while the India A team won the silver in the World Billiards Team Championship.

As part of the win, team leader, Pankaj Advani, made a personal record while helping his team to win. Advani has now won 10 world titles. Advani has also moved on to hold the record for any Indian in any sport, to have won the most world titles. The rest of the winning B team was comprised of Rupesh Shah, Ashok Shandilya, and Devendra Joshi. The team beat the India A team with 5 – 4. It was certainly an exciting final all round.

Advani had the following to say: “Winning a gold for India on Independence Day is a dream come true. We could not have asked for a better outcome as both teams confirmed gold and silver for our beautiful country.”

He further commented: “Ten is a number beyond my wildest imagination! This one is special for a couple of reasons. One, of course is because it’s the 10th, and two, it’s my first team world title and playing with fellow Indians is a special feeling.”

The billiards event was not part of the Commonwealth Games, it took place right after the Games. The International Billiards and Snooker Federation chose this time in order to showcase billiards in the hopes that it could be included in the next Commonwealth Games.

India’s A team was made up of Alok Kumar, Sourav Kothari, B Bhaskar, and Dhruv Sitwala. The team had been ahead at the end of the third round, after which the A team equalized the score.