Bijapur Bulls Win the Karnataka Premier League

Bijapur Bulls - KarnatakaThe Bijapur Bulls have won the Karnataka Premier League 2015 after playing the final match against the Hubli Tigers. The team won by seven wickets with both the skipper, Balachandra Akhil, and Robin Uthappa at the bat with 36 and 38 runs.

The low scoring match had the Bijapur Bulls reach their target of 115 in the 18th over of the game. While the Bijapur Bulls got off to a slot start, however, they were not chasing a high target. In the 12th over, the team stood at 60 for three. After that, Akhil and Uttapa had a 55-run partnership, which brought the team to their win.

The Hubli Tigers lost wickets early in the game, and simply did not manage to get going, with a score of 32 from KB Pawan. This was the highest score from a single player on the Hubli Tigers side.

The Man of the Match award went to Vyshak V from the Bijapur Bulls. Robin Uthappa won the Man of the Series award. For taking a total of 15 wickets, KC Cariappa was the Purple Cap winner. For the most runs during the tournament, Sadiq Kirmani won the Orange Cap for his 338 runs.

The Man of the Series, Robin Uthappa, said: “I had set the standard for myself coming into this tournament. Had a pretty disappointing month and a half. Everyone stuck to their plans and we had the belief right from the start that we would win.”

Commenting on the future of Karnataka cricket, he said: “We have a good bunch of youngsters coming up the ranks as well. It augurs well for Karnataka cricket. I can safely say that we’re in safe hands for the next 10 years. “

The ecstatic Bijapur Bulls were singing together as they posed with their trophy for photographs.