Chennaiyin FC Defeats FC Goa in ISL 2015

By Dhanu Delphi on December 24, 2015

ISL - Chennaiyin FCThe Indian Super League 2015 has ended with a very exciting match in which Chennaiyin FC has defeated FC Goa. The Indian Super League Seasn II ended with 3 – 2, making Chennaiyin FC the new ISL title holders.

The first half of the match went by without a goal, with the second half being far more intense. Chennaiyin was awarded a penalty kick in the 54th minutes after Steven Mendoza, the Chennaiyin striker, was fouled near the pently box by FC Goa’s defender, Pranoy Halder.

The penalty was taken by Bruno Pellisari, and was saved by Goa’s Laxmilanth Kattimani, although Chennaiyin scored a goal through a particularly lucky rebound. Goa leveled the points to 1 – 1 when Shamboi Thaokip substituted for Leo Moura.

With the playing field level, Chennaiyin was awarded a second penalty when a similar foul took place when Kattimani fouled Mendoza. Mendoza did not manage to score as Kattimani dove and saved the ball.

Goa was given a free kick towards the end of the regular playing time in the 87th minutes. Goa’s Jofre took his team into a 2 – 1 lead after getting the ball past Chennaiyin’s Edel Bete. Goa’s supporters began celebrating, however, it was a little premature.

In the 90th minute, two of Goa’s players collided, causing an own goal, once again equalizing the match at 2 – 2.

In the last few minutes of the match, Mendoza received the ball from Jayesh Rane, and kicked it into the net, ending the game with 3 – 2, and Chennaiyin FC as the winner.

With all the goals being scored in the second half, along with an own goal, and penalty kicks, the second half of the final match in the Indian Super League 2015 certainly ended the tournament on an exciting note.