India to Win all 11 World Cup Matches Betting Odds

By Matt Harris on June 3, 2019

Virat Kohli’s India are second favourites to win the 2019 World Cup and they are getting plenty of support in the outright markets. Their general cricket betting odds at the sportsbooks stands at around 3/1, but there is potential to find an alternative Satta with far more value. Betway are currently offering odds of 50/1 if India win all 11 of their games at this tournament.

50-1 World Cup Cricket Betting Odds

That’s right, you can place a wager on India winning all 11 of their World Cup 2019 games at cricket betting odds of 50-1. The bets starts with their opening clash against South Africa, and continues all the way through to the final on July 14.

It may sound like a tall order. However, if anyone can deliver, Virat Kohli’s men seem best placed to go all the way through the competition without dropping a point.

History Tells a Story

When making a bet of this kind it makes sense to see if World Cup history is on our side. Has any team in 11 previous editions of the World Cup ever gone through and won every single game? In 2015, the answer to this question was no: Australia won the trophy on home soil but were beaten in the group stages by co-hosts New Zealand in a thrilling contest.

– 1975

From 2015, we’ll skip 40 years and go right back to the start of the World Cup. England were the hosts in 1975 and the good news for potential punters is that Clive Lloyd’s West Indies won all of their matches as they claimed the inaugural trophy. We should, of course, mention that the short format meant that the Windies only needed to win their five games. That’s less than half of the 11 needed by India to make this bet convert.

In 1979, West Indies won again but one game was lost to the weather. Then we come to India’s historic triumph of 1983. In an expanded competition, Kapil Dev’s men won six but lost two of their eight matches.

1987 draws a blank too with champions Australia losing one game on the way to their first title. In 1992, Pakistan famously won only four of their eight group games before defeating England in the final.

– 1996

Now we hit 1996 and finally, we get a match that is close to India’s task. Sri Lanka won all eight games as they claimed their first crown. While India need three more in 2019, that’s an encouraging indicator.

– 2003

If, however, we skip to 2003, we find that Australia have set a precedent winning all 11 of their World Cup games.

– 2007

In 2007, they then went one better, winning 12 from 12. India couldn’t quite match that return when they claimed their second title in 2011. Nevertheless, this is good news for our bet. Four teams have won all of their matches in 11 World Cups, with Australia winning 11 games or more on two occasions.

Biggest Challenges

The fact that India are second in the outright tournament betting means they are likely to start as favourites in all but one of their group games. The crunch could, therefore, come when Virat Kohli’s men play hosts and favourites England at Edgbaston on June 30th.

Australia started the 2019 tournament strongly and their outright win price may shorten as the competition progresses. India play the Aussies at the Oval on June 9. Meanwhile, further challenges are posed by Pakistan on June 16 and a resurgent West Indies team on June 27.

It’s not a certain bet of course, but 50/1 cricket betting odds at Betway certainly represents an exceptional price. We’ve also seen that there is a precedent. So, it’s certainly a tempter to back India to win all 11 of their World Cup games in 2019.