Updated: December 02, 2020
Author: SportsBetting Team

2015 ICC Cricket World Cup Overview

2015 Cricket World CupThe 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup will be played in Australia and New Zealand from 14 February to 29 March 2015. The ICC Cricket World Cup is played in the 50 overs a side format, which is also known as One Day International (ODI). The 2015 tournament will be the eleventh one. Australia has won the World Cup four times; India and the West Indies have won it twice each and Pakistan and Sri Lanka have won it once each.

The matches will be played in 14 venues, seven in Australia and seven in New Zealand. The semi-finals will be played in Sydney and Auckland. The final will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, which is one of the world’s largest cricket grounds with a capacity of about 100,000 spectators.

There is no doubt that the event will attract a lot of international attention for cricket betting. Be sure to brush up on your knowledge of the teams and find the best odds before placing your bets.

India Bookmakers


₹2500 Betway Bonus

Min Deposit ₹200

Payout 24 hrs

Rating: 5/5

₹2500 Betway Bonus -

₹4000 Bonus @ Bet365

Min Deposit ₹350

Payout 24 hrs

Rating: 4.4/5

₹4000 Bonus @ Bet365 -

Bonus 100% up to ₹10,000

Min Deposit ₹250

Payout 24 hrs

Rating: 4.1/5

Bonus 100% up to ₹10,000 -

8000₹ Welcome Bonus

Min Deposit 1₹

Internet Banking

Rating: 4.5/5

8000₹ Welcome Bonus -

300% up to ₹1000

10% Cashback on In-Play IPL Bets

Fast payouts

Rating: 4.7/5

300% up to ₹1000 -

Bonus 150% to ₹7500

Exclusive Code:


Rating: 4.3/5

Bonus 150% to ₹7500 -

200% Sports FTD Bonus

₹100 Free Bets

Timely payouts

Rating: 4.8/5

200% Sports FTD Bonus -

100% up to ₹10,000 Bonus

Min Deposit ₹800

Payout 24 hrs

Rating: 4.5/5

100% up to ₹10,000 Bonus -

Restrictions for all offers may apply, see terms and conditions for details. Must be 18 years or older. Gamble responsibly.

Teams And Format

14 countries will be vying for the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup. The 10 ICC full member nations automatically qualify. They are as Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe. India is the defending champion and at the time of writing it was the top ranked team in the ICC ODI rankings. The remaining four teams, Ireland, Scotland, Afghanistan and United Arab Emirates are associate members of the ICC and came through qualifying events.

The format for the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup is the same as that for the 2011 event. The teams will be divided into two groups of seven each. Each group will have five full members and two associate members. The seven teams in a group play each other once. The top four teams from each group will qualify for the elimination stage starting with the quarter-finals. The draw for the groups has been conducted and the division is as follows.

2015 Cricket World Cup Pools

Pool A

Sri Lanka
New Zealand

Pool B

South Africa
West Indies
United Arab Emirates

Both groups seem to be evenly balanced. India is not expected to have any problem in reaching the elimination stage. India’s first match will be against traditional rival Pakistan at the Adelaide Oval on February 15. India has never lost to Pakistan in any ICC World Cup ODI and Indian fans will be hoping that this record is sustained.

Changes In Powerplay Rules

The rules under which the ODIs are played have changed since the 2011 ICC World Cup. The most significant of these concern the powerplays, in which there are additional fielding restrictions. The latest change was made in October 2012 and this will continue till the end of the 2015 ICC World Cup. There will be two powerplays. In a full 50 overs game the first 10 overs of an innings will be a mandatory powerplay. Only two fielders are allowed outside the 30-yard circle and there must be a minimum of two stationary fielders in catching positions. The batting powerplay is a block of five overs, which will be at the discretion of either of the batsmen at the wicket. It has to be completed before the 40th over. Only three fielders are allowed outside the 30-yard circle. During the non-powerplay overs no more than four fielders shall be permitted outside the 30-yard circle. The Indian captain M.S. Dhoni and the BCCI have criticised the fielding restrictions stating that the bowlers are at the receiving end, but now it has been confirmed by ICC Chief Executive Dave Richardson that these rules will stay for the World Cup.

Players Expected to Make An Impact

Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina

Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Though cricket is a team game, the World Cup always throws up individual players who shine. Yuvaraj Singh, the Man of the Series in the 2011 ICC World Cup, is currently not in the Indian ODI squad. It is uncertain whether he will play the 2015 event. The current lack of form of Virat Kohli is also a matter of concern for Indian fans.

The players from India to watch out for are MS Dhoni, who is one of the best finishers in the ODI game, and Suresh Raina, who is shaping up as an all-rounder.

Batsmen who are capable of turning around games on their own include Shane Watson of Australia, Chris Gayle of West Indies and AB de Villiers of South Africa. The pitches in Australia and New Zealand will be conducive to pace and bowlers like Dale Steyn of South Africa, Lasith Malinga of Sri Lanka and Jimmy Anderson of England are likely to shine. There is expectation of whether the mystery spinner Sunil Narine of West Indies will be able to work his magic.