India Beats New Zealand in First ODI

By Dhanu Delphi on January 25, 2019

Shikhar Dhawan played an unbeaten knock of 75

The Indian cricket team’s tour of New Zealand includes five One Day International matches, and a three-match T20 International series. India won the first ODI by eight wickets using the DLS method taking the team to a 1 – 0 lead. The match took place in McLean Park, Napier.

First ODI in New Zealand

New Zealand won the toss and chose to bat first. Apart from New Zealand’s Captain Kane Williamson’s 64, the home team batsmen made few runs. The team reached a total of 157 in 38 overs. After dealing with the New Zealand batsmen in quick order, team India knew a win was on its way.

Rohit Sharma opened with only 11 runs; caught out by New Zealand’s Martin Guptill. Shikhar Dhawan made 75 runs not out. Virat Kohli, the team’s skipper, made 45 runs. Ambati Rayudu only had time for 13 runs before India won according to the DLS method. India ended on 156/2 with 85 balls (eight wickets) left to play.

After the match, Kohli said that he was sure New Zealand would set a high run total. He praised his bowlers for an excellent job. Mohammed Shami received the Man of the Match award for his bowling contribution.

Kane Williamson, the Kiwi skipper, acknowledged that India played well on a surface that was not the easiest for batsmen. He also said that the Black Caps did not adjust to the pitch conditions. Williamson hopes that the next match is better for the home team.

Upcoming ODI Series Schedule

The second ODI takes place on Saturday 26th January 2019 at the Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui. ODI three is on Monday 28th January, and also takes place at the Bay Oval. The fourth ODI is on Thursday 31st January in Seddon Park, Hamilton. The final ODI is on Sunday 3rd February at Westpac Stadium, Wellington.