India Takes Silver in Champions Trophy Hockey Title

Field Hockey 1For the first time in the 36-year history of the Hero Champions Trophy Hockey, India made it to the finals. Australia won the first place with a result of 3 – 1. This was Australia’s 14th win in the Champions Trophy. While Australia won the gold, India walked away with the silver.

The game reached the 60th minutes, and there was still no score. With no score, the teams would have to face each other in a penalty shootout. Each team was given four attempts to score goals after the official regulation period was over. India’s Harmanpreet Singh scored India’s goal in the shootout.

Australia’s Daniel Beale, Simon Orchard, and Aran Zalewski all scored goals for the Australian team. India’s goalkeeper, PR Sreejesh blocked the shot by Trent Mitton. After Beale had not scored in the second shot, Australia requested a video review. He was given permission to retake the shot, and scored Australia’s second goal. Australia’s goalkeeper, Lovell, managed to block shots from the Indian team.

India challenged Australia’s second goal in the penalty shootout. Although the goal was reviewed, India lost its appeal. Since the issue was still under review after the match, no trophy was awarded, and the final result was officially announced later.

Since the deliberations took place after the match, the trophies had been removed from the grounds, and the fans left the stadium. India’s appeal was looked into, and it took at least an hour before the reviewers were ready to confirm the result of the match.

The best result that India had previously reached in the past, was a bronze medal, which was won in Amsterdam in 1982.

Australia has retained its position as the number one ranked hockey team worldwide.