India Wins ODI Series in Australia

By Dhanu Delphi on January 19, 2019

India won the third One Day International match in Australia, winning the series 2 – 1 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. The team won with a seven-wicket lead. India’s 234/3 in 49.2 overs beat Australia’s 230 in 48.4 overs. The win took India to their first bilateral series victory in Australia.

Third ODI in Melbourne

India won the toss and opted to bowl first. Although Australia set an easy target, the visitors struggled somewhat to reach their goal. The team captain, Virat Kohli, noted that the wicket was not an easy one for batsmen.

Rohit Sharma opened with only nine runs, while Shikhar Dhawan made only 23 runs. Virat Kohli managed 46 runs, while MS Dhoni, former Indian captain, ended on 87 not out. Kedar Jadhav hit the final ball of India’s Australian tour, taking him to 61 not out. He hit a four, which took India to a match, series, and tour win. The final ball in the Australia tour saw the visitors win the Test series, the ODIs, and draw the T20Is.

Kohli commented: “Two set batsmen there who knew what to do and they got the job done. We’ve been here a long time. It’s been an amazing tour.”

Player of the Series

There was no doubt in anyone’s mind who would be named the Player of the Series. Mahendra Singh Dhoni, greeted with applause and the crowd chanting his name, certainly deserved this award. This was the first time that Dhoni won the Player of the Series award since 2011-12 when playing against England.

Man of the Match went to Yuzvendra Chahal, a great achievement in his first match in Australia.

What’s Next for Indian Cricket?

India heads off to New Zealand for five ODIs along with a T20I, after which the team returns home. This cricketing year is particularly significant since it is a World Cup year.