India Wins T20 International in Australia

Cricket WicketsIndia has won the Twenty20 International cricket tournament in Australia. The Indian team, captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, made a clean sweep of the tournament by beating Australia with 3 – 0.

In the third and final match of the series, India won by seven wickets at the Sydney Cricket Ground. Australia had batted first, leaving India with 197 runs to chase. India’s top batsmen played well, helping to take over the run target.

Rohit Sharma made 52 runs off of 38 balls, Virat Kohli made 50 runs off of 36 balls, Shikhar Dhawan made 26 runs off of 9 balls, and Suresh Raina made 49 runs not out off of 38 balls.

India had already won the first two Twenty20 International matches against Australia. The earlier matches had taken place in Adelaide and Melbourne. Winning the third match in Sydney was an excellent end to outstanding playing.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has congratulated the Indian national team members.

Shashank Manohar, the BCCI President, commented: “It was a superlative performance from Team India to clinch the T20I series in Australia 3-0. I extend my heartiest congratulations to MS Dhoni and his men for doing the nation proud.”

He noted: “With this clean-sweep, India are now the top-ranked team on the ICC Twenty20 International rankings. This victory will go a long way in boosting the young team’s confidence with the ICC World Twenty20 in sight..”

The BCCI Secretary, Anurag Thakur, also commented on the thrilling win: “Team India displayed an immensely special brand of cricket to defeat Australia 3-0 in their own backyard. They not only took the series but also claimed the top spot on the ICC Twenty20 International Rankings.”

Thakur also commented on the women’s cricket team win: “This win, combined with that of India women’s team has brought great joy to the nation.”