Indian Cricket Tour of South Africa 2013 – 1st ODI

The Indian cricket tour of South Africa originally included seven ODIs, three Test matches, and two Twenty20s. The team even prepared for this by sending the India A tem to South Africa earlier on in 2013. In fact, the A team’s Tests batsmen that are currently on tour in South Africa, not including Virat Kohli, had all been to South Africa earlier in the year to become more familiar with the conditions under which they would play during this tour. In the end, the Indian cricket tour in South Africa was shortened, and there will only be three One Day Internationals, and two Tests.

During the first ODI at the Wanderers Stadium, the South African team was seen dressed in pink for Pink Day to promote breast cancer awareness. The Indian team captain, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, won the toss and chose to be the first team to bowl in the first ODI of the tour. Ultimately, the Indian team lost by a huge 141 runs.

The last time that India played a One Day International in South Africa was nearly three years ago, when it was played on 23rd January 2011. Five of the players who played in that ODI are still on the Indian squad, which means that the team playing is a somewhat youthful side. There had been much speculation before the match as to how well the Indian team would do against the South African cricket team.

The Indin cricket team consisted of its captain, MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ajinkya Rahane, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Yuvraj Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, and Ambati Rayudu.

The second ODI will be taking palce on Sunday 8th December in Durban, and the third ODI will be taking place on Wednesday 11th December.