Indian Premier League 2015 Schedule Changes

IPL 2015There has been much excitement in the lead up to the Indian Premier League 2015, which begins today. The Pepsi IPL 2015 will be played from 8th April to 24th May. The games will take place at 12 different venues around the country, giving fans in different locations the opportunity to watch matches live.

The opening match will take place this evening between the Kolkata Knight Riders, the defending champions, and the Mumbai Indians, who won the IPL 2013. The match will take place at 8:00pm IST (2:30pm GMT) at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

There have been some changes introduced to the original IPL 2015 schedule. From 12th April until 25th April, there will be no matches played at Eden Gardens in Kolkata, the ‘home’ of the Kolkata Knight Riders. The reason for this change is because Kolkata is holding its Municipal Elections on 18th April. The Kolkata police requested that there be no local games during that time period.

The Kolkata Knight Riders – Cheannai Super Kings match that was scheduled for 14th April has been moved to 8:00pm on 30th April so that it can be played at Eden Gardens.

The match against the Delhi Daredevils has been moved from 28th April to 7th May at 8:00pm at Eden Gardens.

In order to accommodate these changes, the match between Chennail Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders that will take place in Chennai at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, will now be played on 28th April at 8:00pm.

The match between the Rajasthan Royals and the Mumbai Indians that was set for 4:00pm on 14th April has been moved to a later time on the same day to 8:00pm. The match will take place, as scheduled, at the Sardar Patel Gujarat Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad.

On 7th May, the Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad match that is set to take place at the Bradbourne Stadium in Mumbai, has been moved to the earlier time of 4:00pm.