IPL 10: Sunrisers and Royal Challengers to Meet in Opener

Last year’s champion, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Royal Challengers Bangalore, the runner ups, are set to meet in the opener of the 10th Indian Premier League 2017. The first day of this year’s IPL will begin with an opening ceremony, after which the two top teams from last year’s IPL will meet each other on the pitch.

The first game will take place this week on Wednesday, 5th April. Since this is the 10th anniversary of the Indian Premier League, there will be special ceremonies in each of the host cities. Matches will take place in Hyderabad, Mumbai, Delhi, Bangalore, Pune, Kolkata, Rajkot, and Mohali.

It is still unclear as to when Virat Kohli will be playing with his team, the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Kohli is still recovering from a shoulder injury he sustained in the recent India – Australia Test match. It appears that Kohli will be playing, however, he is expected to sit out the first few matches of the IPL.

Shane Watson will be the stand-in captain at the beginning of the league for Royal Challengers Bangalore. David Warner will lead the Sunrisers Hyderabad.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad coach, Tom Moody, commented on tomorrow’s opening match: “Tomorrow night is going to be a difficult match for us regardless of the fact that we beat them in the final or that they are missing out on key players due to injuries. “

He further noted: “At the end of the day, you have just 120 balls with bat and ball and it is down to small margins. We have to make sure we get everything right on the night to secure a first up win.”

Moody spoke confidently of his team including both veteran and new players. He noted that although Mustafizur Rahman will not be with the team this year, the strategy of the team has been adjusted accordingly. Two new players on the team, Mohammad Nabi, and Rashid Khan, are from Afghanistan.