Kohli and Kirmani Recognized for their Achievements at BCCI Awards

virat kohli bcci award 2015Virat Kohli, Indian Test cricket captain, was awarded the Polly Umrigar Trophy for the Cricketer of the Year award at the Board of Cricket Control in India’s awards night. Syed Kirmani received the particularly prestigious Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award at the BCCI ceremony.

Kirmani spoke about what he felt was his biggest achievement during his career, winning the World Cup. He said: “Personally, I was named the world’s best wicketkeeper for that World Cup and received a silver glove and silver ball with ‘The best wicketkeeper in the world’ inscribed underneath, from the great English wicketkeeper, Godfrey Evans. I was conferred the Arjuna Award and the Padmashree Award from the government of India and now this lifetime achievement award from the BCCI.”

He further commented: “These are all accolades I cannot quite put on the same pedestal but they are all the best achievements of my life and they are all special. Cricket was my life and it gave me a great education in the way of life.”

Mithali Raj of Railways won the Best Woman Cricketer (Sr) of 2014-15, taking home the M.A Chidambaram Trophy. Raj had won the same award in 2007-08. She said: “The last time I won was in 2007-08. When I am scoring runs in the domestic circuit, it gives me the confidence to perform at the international level. I received the Padma Shri and that was important as it recognized my contribution to women’s cricket.”

Devika Vaidya of Maharashtra won the M.A Chidambaram Trophy – Best Woman Cricketer (Jr) of 2014-15.

Jalaj Saxena of Madhya Pradesh C A won the Lala Amarnath Award for the Best All-Rounder in the Ranji Trophy 2014-15, and Deepak Hooda of Baroda C A won the Lala Amarnath Award for the Best All-Rounder in Domestic Limited-Overs Competitions 2014-15.