MS Dhoni Receives ICC People’s Choice Award

MS Dhoni is a particularly popular cricket player. The ICC People’s Choice Award for which he has been chosen has certainly shown where the hearts of the people lie this year, 2013.

The voting for this award began on 2nd November, and ended on 23rd November. The voting was open to the public, and cricket fans from across the globe were able to vote for a winner. From the online voting, a short list was created by the panel of cricket experts that were assembled for this purpose. The panel includes England’s Alec Stewart, South Africa’s Graeme Pollock, New Zealand’s Catherine Campbell, Pakistan’s Waqar Younis,a nd it is headed up by Anil Kumble, who was a former India cricket captain, and is currently the chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee.

The Indian cricket team’s captain may also win some other awards, such as the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year award. The ICC People’s Choice Award has been around since 2010, making this the fourth year of the award. While the award is in its fourth year, MS Dhoni will be the third player to win it. In 2010, the first time the award was given, it went to Sachin Tendulkar. In 2011 and in 2012, the award was won by Kumar Sangakkara from Sri Lanka.

Dhoni is currently with his cricket team on a tour in South Africa. Since he was not available to receive his own award, Sanjay Patel, the BCCI secretary, received it on Dhoni’s behalf.

Other awards that were given out includes the ICC Test Team of the Year, the ICC ODI Team of the Year, Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year, Cricketer of the Year, Test Cricketer of the Year, ODI Cricketer of the Year, Emerging Cricketer of the Year, Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year, the Spirit of Cricket Award, and Umpire of the Year.