Mumbai Through to Ranji Trophy Final

Ranji TrophyMumbai has played in the Ranji Trophy finals 45 times. The team is through to the upcoming finals, which will be Mumbai’s 46th time in the finals. Of the 45 times that the team has reached the finals, Mumbai has won 40 times.

Although Mumbai ended the semi final in a draw with Madhya Pradesh, Mumbai qualified based on their first innings lead. Although Madhya Pradesh fought hard, the team was not going to be able to reach the huge total of 472 runs that were needed on the final day of the match. The match was ended in the third session with a draw Madhya Pradesh ended on 361/5 in 109 overs.

Madyha Pradesh ended the match with 227/10 with 79 runs from Naman Ojha, and 5-43 for Balwinder Sandhu, and 361/5 in which the team scored two centuries. Harpreet Singh Bhatia made a century with 105 runs, and Naman Ojha made a century with 113 runs.

Mumbai ended the match with 371/10 with 90 runs from Shreya Iyer, 68 runs from Aditya Tare, and 5-137 from Chandrakant Sakhure, and 426/10, which also included two centuries from Suryakumar Yadav with 115 runs, and Aditya Tare with 109 runs.

This year’s final will be reminiscent of the final that took place in the 2012-13 Ranji Trophy when Mumbai and Saurashtra met each other on the pitch. Saurashtra easily beat Assam in the first semi final that took place in Vadodara. While the team knows it will not have such an easy time against Mumbai, Saurashtra certainly hopes to win, and the team will be giving it their all.

The final match of the Ranji Trophy will take place this month from 24th to 28th February in Pune.