Mumbai to Host First Qualifier for IPL 10

The Indian Premier League Governing Council met on Thursday to discuss the upcoming IPL 10. There has been a bit of a struggle as to whether the Board of Control of Cricket in India’s Committee of Administrators or the office bearers should make the final decisions regarding various board affairs. Because of this, there had been some concern that the Thursday meeting could have been one with opposing, and squabbling, sides.

There was a good surprise awaiting all when the meeting went off without a hitch. At the meeting, various logistics, payment issues, the IPL venues were discussed and agreed on. All parties were in agreement, and decisions regarding pledged financial assistance for those hosting were agreed on. It appears that all parties have made special efforts to cooperate in order to ensure the smooth-running of this year’s 10th IPL.

While not all venues have been finalized yet, an important decision regarding Mumbai was taken. Since Mumbai had suffered from drought last year, and was unable to host the play-off, the city will host the First Qualifier this year. The Eliminators are set to take place in Bangalore.

Rajiv Shukla, the IPL Chairman, noted: “Mumbai lost out on last year’s IPL Play-off because of the drought issue. That is why Mumbai has been shortlisted for one of the qualifiers.”

The Eliminators will take place in Bangalore, and the Finals will take place in Hyderabad, the home of the defending champions.

Another important agreement was that a decision was taken to honour Indian cricket’s ‘Fab Five’. This will be done at the opening ceremony of the IPL 10. The five cricket legends that will be honoured are Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly, Virender Sehwag, and WS Laxman.

The opening ceremony of the 10th Indian Premier League will take place in Hyderabad on 5th April 2017.