Mumbai Win Ranji Trophy Title for 41st Time

Ranji TrophyMumbai and Saurashtra played against each other in the Ranji Trophy final 2015 – 2016. In the final match of the Ranji Trophy, Mumbai came out as the victors, once again, after beating Saurashtra by an innings and 21 runs. This is the 41st Ranji Trophy title for Mumbai.

Mumbai had last won the Ranji Trophy in the 2012 – 2013 competition. After their 40th win, the team had two dryer years without the trophy, and came back for its 41st win this year at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune on Friday. For Mumbai, with the huge number of past Ranji Trophy winnings, anything but a win is considered somewhat of a failure, even if the team did make it to the finals. After two years without a win, there was a lot at stake for the team, who came out tops with excellent playing.

Mumbai managed to win the final match in just three days. Mumbai was captained by Aditya Tare, who managed to take four catches during the second innings. Not only did he make four catches, he also set a new Ranji Trophy record. Tare set the record for dismissals of players by a wicket keeper in a single Ranji Trophy season with his 48 dismissals in the 2015 – 2016 season.

The team was praised and congratulated by a number of top cricketers on Twitter.

Rohit Sharma tweeted: “Top performance by Mumbai Ranji team throughout the season. Very well deserved and rightly so holding it for the 41st time.”

Sachin Tendulkar also celebrated with the team on Twitter: “Ranji champions for the 41st time, yeeaaahh!!! Well done Mumbai!!! Really proud of you.

Mumbai Ranji Trophy achievements:

• Mumbai has played in 45 Ranji Trophy finals.
• Mumbai has won 41 out of the 45 finals the team has played in.
• Ten of the 41 wins were innings wins.