New Zealand Beats India in T20I Series

By Dhanu Delphi on February 11, 2019

Rohit Sharma hitting the ballIndia won the five-match One Day International series against the Kiwis with a 4 – 1 result. Unfortunately for the visitors, they lost the three-match T20 International series by four runs.

When India and New Zealand entered the final match with a 1 – 1 tie, it was unclear who would win. New Zealand won the first match by 80 runs, and India won the second match by seven wickets. In the third match, New Zealand finished with 212/4, and India ended on 208/6. The hosts won the final T20I match with just four runs, taking the series.

A Disappointed Indian Team

Rohit Sharma, India’s T20I skipper, was disappointed that his team lost the final match. He noted that the team fought hard, but it was a tough chase. Rohit credited the New Zealand bowlers for doing a good job.

He also noted that there were positives, and that his team will learn from their mistakes for the future. Although the final match ended with a disappointing loss, the Indian cricket team played well in Australia and New Zealand.

New Zealand Celebrates

The New Zealand captain, Kane Williamson, commented on the competitive nature of the series. He commended his team on their exceptional performance in the first T20I. He also noted that the New Zealand team performed well in the fourth ODI.

The New Zealand cricket team has little time to celebrate because they are readying themselves for the Bangladesh tour.

The Man of the Match, Colin Munro, made 72 runs for New Zealand. Tim Seifert walked away with the Man of the Series award for his quality batting contribution in the series.

India Heads Home

The Indian team returns home ahead of the Australian tour. India and Australia will play two T20I matches on the 24th and 27th February 2019.. The first of the five-match ODI series begins on 2nd March 2019.