Nidahas Trophy Triangular Cricket Tournament

By Dhanu Delphi on February 27, 2018

The Nidahas Trophy T20I tournament is set to take place in Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka, India, and Bangladesh are the three teams who will play in the triangular T20I tournament. The round robin cricket tournament is part of Sri Lanka’s 70th independence anniversary celebrations.

The schedule for the Nidahas Trophy is as follows:
6th March: Sri Lanka vs India
8th March: Bangladesh vs India
10th March: Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh
12th March: India vs Sri Lanka
14th March: India vs Bangladesh
16th March: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka
18th March: Final match between the top two teams.

SLC President Comments

Thilanga Sumathipala, the Sri Lanka Cricket President, commented on the upcoming tournament: “70 years is a long journey. It is one that needs to be commemorated and celebrated. We are happy that our closest neighbours, who share more or less the same journey of independence , are joining us in this celebration, which we believe will be a milestone and an augur of the great things to come in the annals of cricket.”

The games will all take place in the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Rohit Sharma to Lead Squad in Sri Lanka

India has announced that Rohit Sharma is to take the role of skipper at Sri Lanka’s Nidahas Trophy series. Shikhar Dhawan is to take the role of vice-captain.

The BCCI made the decision to rest both Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, and Hardik Pandya after the South African tour.

Sharma captained the Indian team in both the T20I and ODI series that took place in Sri Lanka in December 2017. India won the series. Sharma also led India in the final T20I match in South Africa, the deciding game of the series, that India won.

The squad heading for Sri Lanka consists of Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Dinesh Harthik, Rishabh Pant, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Hooda, Vijay Shankar, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Siraj, and Jaydev Unadkat.