Sunrisers Hyderabad Win First IPL Victory

IPL 2016 - Sunrisers Hyderabad WinThe Sunrisers Hyderabad have won the Indian Premier League 2016. This was the team’s first IPL win, and their first appearance in a final. Not only did the Sunrisers Hyderabad win, they scored 208 runs, the highest total reached in an IPL final.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad scored 208-7 in 20.0 overs. David Warner scored 69 runs, Yuvraj Singh scored 38 runs, and Ben Cutting scored 39 runs. The Royal Challengers Bangalore scored 200-7 in 20.0 overs. Chris Gayle scored 76 runs, Virat Kohli scored 54 runs. Ben Cutting was named the Man of the Match for his 39 runs off of 15 balls, and for bowling 35/2.

Sunrisers Hyderabad had won the toss and decided to bat first. David Warner scored a large run total, helping to take his team through to a win. Warner had reached the record for the quickest half century made in an IPL final match.

Chris Gayle gave the Royal Challengers Bangalore a great start, and Kohli scored a half century. The two players formed a good partnership, but it was clear that Gayle was simply dominating at the bat. Gayle hit three boundaries, and five sixes. He reached a half century in 25 balls. Once Gayle was dismissed, Kohli began to come into his own. Kohli’s 54 runs off of 35 balls include five boundaries and two sixes. Although the Royal Challengers Bangalore played well at the bat, their fielding could have been better. RCB simply could not reach the target of 209.

The total number of runs scored in the final reached 408. This total is the highest run aggregate that has been achieved in an Indian Premier League final match. The previous record of 399 runs took place in the match between the Kolkata Knight Riders and the Kings XI Punjab in 2014.