Two New IPL Franchises to be Hosted Out of Pune and Rajkot

IPL - General LogoThe Rajasthan Royals and the Chennai Super Kings were suspended from the Indian Premier League for two years. Since they are only expected to return to the IPL in 2018, two newly formed teams will replace the suspended teams.

The two new teams will be hosted by Pune and Rajkot. After having their bids accepted, the Rising Pune and Intex Rajkot will be joining the IPL for the next two years. The two teams will not be taking funds from the IPL’s central pool. Both teams will be paying to compete.

Following their successful bid, Rising Pune is owned by Sanjeev Goenka’s company, New Rising. He will be paying Rs 10 crore for the two-year period. Intex Mobiles bid successfully on the Rajkot franchise. Intex Mobile will be paying Rs 16 crore for the two-year period.

The two new teams will be able to recruit a limited number of players through the draft system. The draft pick is set to take place on December 15th. Each team can take up to five players from the pool of 50 cricketers. The IPL auction for the other players is scheduled for 6th February 2016.

The Chennai Super Kings and the Rajasthan Royals were suspended after being found guilty of spot fixing and illegal betting. Raj Kundra, a co-owner of the Rajasthan Royals has received a life-long ban on any cricket related activities, as has Gurunath Meiyappan of the Chennai Super Kings. The Royals won the IPL in 2008, and the Super Kings won in both 2010 and in 2011.

The Indian Premier League takes place between in April and May each year. The first IPL took place in 2008. The two new teams will join teams from Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Kolkata, and Mohali in order to ensure that there are still eight teams playing. A number of top players from around the world and from India compete in the IPL each year.

The 2016 Indian Premier League is set to begin on 8th April 2016, and will end on 29th May.