Virat Kohli Continues to Shine

India - cricket - Virat KohliVirat Kohli has been breaking records since the Indian Premier League 2016 began. To date, Virat Kohli has won the Player of the Match award four times in this year’s IPL. Kohli and Rohit Sharma both share the distinction of having received Player of the Match the most times.

Kohli has scored four centuries in Indian Premier League matches. He has one century less than Chris Gayle, who has made it to five. Kohli has scored four centuries during his time as a Twenty20 cricket team captain. Other Indian captains have reached three centuries.

In T20 cricket matches, Kohli has scored 6224 runs. There are only four who have scored more than him. The four batsmen who have more than 6224 runs are Chris Gayle, David Warner, Brad Hodge, and Brendon McCulllum. There is a good chance that Kolhi will catch up.

Kohli has scored the most runs by any batsman in the IPL with 4002 runs. He is also the first to have passed the 4000 mark. Before Kohli reached this point, Suresh Raina had held the record for the most runs in the IPL since 2010.

Kohli took just 4 balls to make the fastest ever century by an IPL captain. The previous record was held by Virender Sehwag since 2011 when he reached a century by taking 48 balls.

Virat Kohli is a right-handed batsman. He was born in 1988, and is now 27-years-old. Kohli is playing with the Royal Challengers Bangalore in this year’s Indian Premier League. Kohli has received awards including the ICC One Day International Player of the Year Award in 2012, the People’s Choice Awards India for Favorite Sportsperson of the Year 2012, and the Arjuna Award for Cricket in 2013. Kohli is currently on the India National Cricket Team, the Delhi Cricket Team, and the Royal Challengers Bangalore.