Which Player Will Win The Man Of The Series Award?

By Dhanu Delphi on July 8, 2019

We have come into the final week of the 2019 ICC World Cup with just the two semi-finals and grand finale left to be played. Therefore, let’s take a look at three players who are most likely to win the World Cup Man of the Series award. We will also look at why these three players are currently the favourites among cricket bettors and the sportsbooks alike.

World Cup Man Of The Series Title

The World Cup has been viewed by millions of cricket fans across the world. They have also been treated to some fantastic action throughout the tournament. Especially with some of the top players in World Cricket having showcased their skillset on the biggest stage in World Cricket.

Bookies have taken in loads of bets during the World Cup, too. One of the popular bets is picking the Man of the Series award. The Man of the Series award will be given out after the World Cup final is played. The award generally goes to the player who has made the biggest contribution on a consistent basis throughout the World Cup and has led their team to victory.

Four Semi-Finalists – Odds

The Man of the Series award will most likely go to one of the players who will help their team win the 2019 World Cup. The four teams that have made it to the World Cup semis are India, New Zealand, England and Australia. Oddschecker currently have India at 15/8, Australia at 14/5, England at 21/10 and New Zealand at 9/1.

World Cup Man Of The Series Contenders

So if you are looking to place money on the World Cup Man Of The Series, you should watch out for players from these semi-finalist teams:

India – Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma sits atop the leading run scorer list with 647 runs from just 8 games. The dashing opener has been in ominous form. He has hit an incredible 5 hundreds and 1 fifty at an average of 92.42 and a strike rate of just under 99. R Sharma has taken on the responsibility of giving India the start they need at the top of the order. Furthermore, that’s in the absence of his usual opening partner S Dhawan. The latter had to exit the World Cup after suffering an injury.

R Sharma will really want to perform in the semi-final and final to help India win their third ICC World Cup. Sharma said that his good form in the World Cup was very satisfying. However, he also said nothing is more satisfying than winning the World Cup.

Australia – David Warner

David Warner is second on the list of leading run scorers and just behind R Sharma with 638 games. Warner has taken 9 matches to reach this number and has scored 3 centuries and 3 fifties. There was a lot of speculation about how Warner would perform after being out of international cricket for 12 months. He has responded in style.

His batting in the semi-final and final will therefore be one of the keys to Australia lifting the World Cup.

Australia – Mitchell Starc

There is no doubt that M Starc has been the bowler of the tournament so far. He sits comfortably at the top of the list of leading wicket takers with 26 wickets. The left arm fast bowler is only one wicket short of surpassing Glenn McGrath for taking the most wickets in the World Cup.

Starc has been unplayable at the death with his swinging yorkers and has taken a bag full of wickets. New Zealand’s Lockie Ferguson and India’s J Bumrah are tied in 3rd place on the list with 17 wickets apiece. It will take a phenomenal bowling effort from these two bowlers if they are going to get near M Starc. However, if they bowl their teams to a World Cup victory, they will likely secure the Player of the Series award. That’s even if M Starc finishes as the number one wicket taker in the tournament.

There is an outside chance that Shakib Al Hasan from Bangladesh might get the award for his fantastic performance with the bat and ball. However, given the fact that Bangladesh has been eliminated from the World Cup, Shakib will most likely miss out!