Cricket pundits say that test cricket is the ultimate test for a true cricketer but for cricket fans, the ODI and T20 format is where all the fun lies.

Fans are ecstatic when a batsman goes berzerk and starts hitting massive sixes that not only clear the boundary but sometimes even the stadium.

The popularity of T20 cricket over the last decade has also provided a platform for big hitters to showcase their power hitting and become T20 specialists. The rise of the Indian Premier League (IPL) has given birth to this new generation of players always trying to smash it out of the park.

In this article, we take a look at the top ten longest sixes in cricket, and the players who immortalized themselves in the history of cricket with their flawless power-hitting.

Most of the names on this list will not surprise ardent cricket fans but a couple of names will be a shocker.

1. Shahid Afridi – 153m (Pakistan vs. South Africa)

In 2013, Shahid Afridi, a former player and captain of Pakistan, struck the longest six in cricket history. Ryan McLaren’s delivery was whacked out of the Wanderers Stadium for a huge six that spanned 153 meters.

2. Brett Lee – 135m (Australia vs. West Indies)

Other than being one of the quickest bowlers in the world, Brett Lee also holds the record for the second-longest six in cricket.

During an Australia vs. West Indies test match at the Gabba in 2005, Lee scored a six that sent the ball 135 meters away.

3. Martin Guptill – 127m (New Zealand vs. South Africa)

The third-longest sixer in cricket history is recorded in the name of Martin Guptill. In 2012, during a T20 against South Africa, Guptill struck a 127-meter six against Lonwabo Tsotsobe at the Westpac Stadium.

4. Liam Livingstone – 122m (England vs. Pakistan)

The next player on this list is power-hitter Liam Livingstone, who in the second T20I between England and Pakistan at Headingley in 2021 smashed a stunning 122-meter six while batting against Haris Rauf of Pakistan.

5. Corey Anderson – 122m (New Zealand vs. India)

Corey Anderson’s best year came in 2014 when he set and broke several records, including the record for the longest sixes in cricket history.

He hit a 122-meter six at the Napier Cricket Ground while batting against India’s Mohammed Shami.

6. Mark Waugh – 120m (Australia vs. New Zealand)

The sixth-longest sixer in cricket history was hit by Australia’s Mark Waugh in 1997 during New Zealand’s tour of Australia.

Mark Waugh etched his name in cricket history by hitting a 120-meter-long six against New Zealand’s Daniel Vettori.

7. Yuvraj Singh – 119m (India vs. Australia)

India’s Yuvraj Singh takes the next spot on our list. Known as one of the most gifted stroke masters, Yuvi hit a 119-meter long six in the ICC T20 World Cup 2007 against Australia’s Brett Lee, who is known for his fast bowling.

8. Mahendra Singh Dhoni – 118m (India vs. New Zealand)

The record for the eighth-longest six in cricket history is held by yet another Indian cricketer MS Dhoni.

In the 44th over of the third ODI during India’s 2009 tour of New Zealand, the Chennai Super Kings captain smashed a 118-meter six.

Just in case you didn’t know, MS Dhoni is also the 3rd richest cricketer in the world.

9. Shahid Afridi – 118m (Pakistan vs. Australia)

Appearing again on the list, Shahid Afridi also has another legendary six registered under his name.

In the eighth ODI of the CB-Tri series in 2005, Afridi struck a 118-meter six against a delivery by Australia’s Andrew Symonds.

10. Chris Gayle – 116m (West Indies vs. India)

Chris Gayle has many cricket records to his credit, including one of the longest sixes.

Gayle blasted Yusaf Pathan for a 116-meter six that flew clean out of the stadium during the West Indies vs. India T20 World Cup match in 2010.

Top 10 Longest Sixes In Cricket History – List

Rank Player Opponent Six Distance Year Venue
1 Shahid Afridi


South Africa 153m 2013 Wanderers Stadium
2 Brett Lee


West Indies 135m 2005 The Gabba
3 Martin Guptill

(New Zealand)

South Africa 127m 2012 Westpac Stadium
4 Liam Livingstone


Pakistan 122m 2021 Headingley Stadium
5 Corey Anderson (New Zealand) India 122m 2014 Napier Cricket Ground
6 Mark Waugh


New Zealand 120m 1997 WACA Stadium
7 Yuvraj Singh


Australia 119m 2007 Kingsmead Stadium
8 MS Dhoni


New Zealand 118m 2009 Christchurch
9 Shahid Afridi


Australia 118m 2005 WACA Stadium
10 Chris Gayle

(West Indies)

India 116m 2010 Kensington Oval
22bet picks logo

Sportsbook of the Month

Play Now