IPL Purple Cap Betting Sites

Winning the IPL is what this competition is all about. But there can only be one winning team and if your teammates don’t all play out of their skins as well, you’re unlikely to win it.

There are individual awards up for grabs in the IPL though. The one all bowlers want to win is the Purple Cap, which is given to the top wicket-taker in the competition.

Last year’s race for the Purple Cap went to the bitter end with spin duo Yuzvendra Chahal of Rajasthan and Hasaranga de Silva of Bangalore never separated by more than a couple of wickets throughout the long campaign.

Chahal ended up with 27 wickets in IPL 2022 and the brilliant Sri Lankan de Silva with 26. Chahal benefitted from the fact he played an extra match and pipped him thanks to a solitary wicket in the final.

With the IPL Orange Cap odds available on betting sites, let us now have a look at the 2023 IPL Purple Cap odds and who is likely to win it.

Most Wickets IPL 2023

Position Player Matches Wickets Bowling Average Economy
1 Tushar Deshpande 11 19 20.84 10.33
2 Mohammad Shami 10 18 15.22 7.02
3 Rashid Khan 10 18 17.88 8.05
4 Piyush Chawla 10 17 16.47 7.17
5 Arshdeep Singh 10 16 22.56 9.8
6 Ravindra Jadeja 11 15 19.2 7.38
7 Mohammed Siraj 10 15 19.06 7.72
8 Varun Chakaravarthy 10 14 21.5 7.99
9 Ravichandran Ashwin 10 13 20.61 7.24
10 Yuzvendra Chahal 10 13 23.15 8.17

2023 IPL Purple Cap Odds

Player Odds On Betway
Rashid Khan 4.00
Yuzvendra Chahal 5.00
Mohammed Shami 5.00
Mohammed Siraj 5.50
Arshdeep Singh 9.50
Tushar Deshpande 10.00
Mark Wood 12.00
Ravi Bishnoi 17.00
Trent Boult 17.00
Piyush Chawla 19.00
Ravindra Jadeja 21.00

Who Are the fAvorites to win 2023 IPL Top Bowler Award?

The IPL bookies have reacted to the fact that the Top 2 wicket-takers in the IPL last year were both spinners – Chahal and Hasaranga -as discussed already.

So those two are part of a three-way tie for favoritism, with the brilliant Rashid Khan gate-crashing the party and joining them, also available at odds of 11.00 on Parimatch.

So, let’s look at all three of them together and try to work out who’s the pick of them.

Let’s start with the basics. All three of them tick the boxes outlined above of

(a) always playing for their respective teams

(b) Almost always bowling their full four overs

(c) being available for the whole tournament.

As regards the next ‘must’ of having lots of IPL experience, the first two do. Hasaranga has only played one full season of IPL cricket but that certainly didn’t stop him from taking wickets for fun last season.

So in his case, we can probably ignore that metric.

IPL bowling Strike rates

Here are the career strike rates for the three of them over their T20 domestic careers, alongside their IPL career strike rates.

Player All T20 Matches T20 career Strike Rate IPL Career Strike rate
Yuzvendra Chahal 264 18.8 17.2
Rashid Khan 391 17 19.6
Hasaranga de Silva 136 14.8 13.1

It’s worth explaining that the T210 carer strike rate includes IPL matches. It’s also worth pointing out that Hasaranga’s IPL career strike rate is just his strike rate from last season, as that’s the only season he played in the IPL.

Hasaranga may have played fewer T20 matches in general than the other two and far fewer in the IPL but he still played enough T20 matches (136) for that to be a decent sample.

Therefore, the fact his T20 career strike rate is considerably better than the other two is certainly an important consideration, while he easily trumps the other two on IPL strike rate, albeit from just one season.

Gujarat Titans’ Edge Over Other Two Teams

There’s one more factor we should consider and that’s the team’s chances of winning the tournament.

The reason that’s an important factor is that a bowler on a team who makes the final will play two or three more matches than one whose team doesn’t make the Playoffs. And that of course, could make all the difference because 2-3 extra matches could mean an extra 4-5 wickets.

Rashid Khan’s Gujarat have IPL odds of 6.5, Hasaranga’s Bangalore are available for 7.5 and Chahal’s Rajasthan are available for 8.0 to win the IPL with Betway.

There’s not much in it but probably just enough to eliminate Chahal from the equation on account of playing for the outsider of the three and having the worst T20 career strike rate of the three.

Back rASHID kHAN To Lift IPL Purple Cap Trophy

Another negative is that only one player in IPL history has won the Purple Cap back-to-back, which was Bhuvi Kumar in 2016 and 2017. Out of curiosity, only one other player has won it more than once, which was Dwayne Bravo (2013 and 2015).

So, with the stats pointing to how hard it is to win it back-to-back, this somewhat ironically counts against Chahal. We will go with the favorite choice Rashid Khan.

2023 IPL Purple Cap Betting: Is there anyone else worth considering?

Yes, there is. At this stage, we should point out that Chahal was just one of three spinners to have taken the Purple Cap in 15 seasons of the IPL. The others were Pragyan Ojha (2010) and Imran Tahir (2019).

So though both he and the other two just discussed (Khan/Hasaranga) have a lot going for them and are understandable favorites, the long-term stats suggest that a pace bowler is far more likely to end as the IPL’s highest wicket-taker.

Bet Small On Umran Malik To Win IPL Purple Cap 2023

So step forward Umran Malik. Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Umran Malik played three matches at the back end of the 2021 season, taking two wickets, and in his first full season in the IPL, took 22 in 14 matches.

Had he played an extra two or three matches like Chahal and Hasaranga did, by making the Playoffs, he may well have beaten them. Malik’s career strike rate from 38 T20 domestic matches is 14.5, which is better than any of those three.

His IPL carer strike rate is 15.29 so considerably better than Chahal or Khan. Had he taken 40 wickets and qualified to be on the list of the players with the best IPL career strike rates ever, he’d be ranked third. Hasaranga would be top if he’s taken 40 wickets himself and Kagiso Rabada would be second.

Aside from those stats, Umran Malik is rapid and will be alongside Lockie Ferguson the fastest bowler at the tournament. And that alone will cause batsmen plenty of problems.

With SRH expected to have a considerably better season this time round as per our Sunrisers Hyderabad team preview, so with a chance of playing more games in the Playoffs, he has to be included in our Purple Cap tips, as well.

Recommended Bet To Win IPL Purple Cap 2023

Back Rashid Khan @ 4.33 with Betway

How to bet on the IPL Purple Cap winner Betting market?

How to find and bet on the market:

Step 1: Sign in to your favorite IPL betting app.

Step 2: Go to Cricket & choose IPL.

Step 3: Go to Outrights and choose the IPL Top Bowler market. On some betting sites, it may be listed as the Purple Cap winner.

Step 4: Pick the bowler of your choice and place a bet.

IPL Purple Cap Winners List (2008-2023)

Year Player Team Matches Wickets Average Economy
2022 Yuzvendra Chahal Rajasthan Royals 17 27 19.51 7.75
2021 Harshal Patel Royal Challengers Bangalore 15 32 14.34 8.14
2020 Kagiso Rabada Delhi Capitals 17 30 18.26 8.34
2019 Imran Tahir Chennai Super Kings 17 26 16.57 6.69
2018 Andrew Tye Kings XI Punjab 14 24 18.66 8
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad 14 26 14.19 7.05
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad 17 23 21.3 7.42
2015 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 17 26 16.38 8.14
2014 Mohit Sharma Chennai Super Kings 16 23 19.65 8.39
2013 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 18 32 15.53 7.95
2012 Morne Morkel Delhi Daredevils 16 25 18.12 7.19
2011 Lasith Malinga Mumbai Indians 16 28 13.39 5.95
2010 Pragyan Ojha Deccan Chargers 16 21 20.42 7.29
2009 RP Singh Deccan Chargers 16 23 18.13 6.98
2008 Sohail Tanvir Rajasthan Royals 11 22 12.09 6.46
22bet picks logo

Sportsbook of the Month

Play Now