The Men’s FIH Hockey World Cup is the pre-eminent competition for field hockey in the world. The 15th edition of this hotly contested tournament kicked off on January 13, 2023, in Bhubaneswar, India with the 2023 hockey world cup final all set to be played on January 29, 2023.

If you are a hockey betting enthusiast or want to try betting on hockey for the first time, we have listed down the hockey world cup betting tips which is supposedly the biggest hockey tournament.

Here, we will give you a quick overview of the 2023 FIH Hockey World Cup odds, analysis, and predictions.

2023 Men’s FIH Hockey World Cup Odds For Outright Winner

Team Odds On Betway
Australia 4.00
Belgium 5.00
Netherlands 6.00
England 9.00
Germany 9.00
India 9.00
Argentina 15.00
New Zealand 15.00
Spain 15.00
France 34.00
South Africa 34.00
Malaysia 51.00
South Korea 51.00
Wales 51.00
Chile 67.00
Japan 67.00

Hockey World Cup Betting Sites

2023 FIH Hockey World Cup Winner Predictions

Let’s take a closer look at the five top contenders who can win the 2023 Men’s FIH Hockey World Cup:

Australia (4.00) 

As one of the top teams in men’s hockey over the last few decades, Australia is always a favorite on hockey betting sites at the start of an FIH World Cup.

Australia are favorites to win the 2023 FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup trophy with odds of 4.00 on Betway which gives them a high implied win probability of 25%.

In 2023, the Kookaburras arrive in Bhubaneswar as the top-ranked team in the world, ahead of Belgium with 3000+ points.

Since they are yet to play in the FIH Pro League due to the new and revised formats, the Aussies arrive at the World Cup fresh and free from fatigue or injury concerns.

In Blake Govers, Jeremy Hayward, and Nathan Ephraums, Australia have a trio of high-scoring forwards.

Belgium (5.00)

The Red Lions are enjoying the most successful era in their hockey history at the moment. Belgium are the defending World Cup champions, the European champions, the 2020 Tokyo Olympics champions, and the winners of the 2020-21 FIH Pro league.

Though they finished second in the 2021-22 FIH Pro League and have had a tepid start to the current year, Belgium remains a top contender to retain the World Cup at Bhubaneswar.

Their biggest threat is the forward line, with Nicolas De Kerpel, Alexander Hendrickx, and Tom Boon.

Netherlands (6.00) 

The Oranje are one of the most successful teams in the history of the Hockey World Cup, tied with Australia at 3 wins apiece.

As the third-ranked team in the FIH tables and defending champions of the FIH Pro League, they are a serious prospect going into the 2023 hockey world cup as well.

However, the Dutch were in a bit of a rut in 2022 and will now look to change their fortunes in 2023. After a dominating finish to the 21-22 FIH Pro League, they surprised everyone with a lackluster start to this year’s league.

Currently 7th in the Pro league standings, they will need to rouse themselves quickly by January to improve their odds.

India (9.00)

If history is any guide, hosts don’t have a major advantage at the FIH World Cup, with just three countries winning the cup on home soil.

India has not won the tournament in nearly 50 years, with their sole win coming in 1975. They are 5th in the FIH world rankings in 2022.

Lots of Betway hockey betting markets
Fast & Secure Payouts
Free Bet Upto ₹4000 and Minimum Deposit of ₹200

However, India is coming to the tournament with the best striker in world hockey at the moment. Harmanpreet Singh has scored 39 goals in 2022, 14 more than the nearest competitor in the scoring sheets.

If he can maintain his current form, the hockey world cup trophy could be returning to India after 47 years.

If you want to bet on India to win and don’t know how to deposit on betting sites, we have you covered. If you bet ₹100 on India to win and they end up winning, you will make a profit of ₹800.

Germany (9.00)

The Honamas are another top team in world hockey, with four Olympic golds and two FIH World Cups to their name.

But it’s been more than 15 years since their double wins in the 2002 and 2006 World Cups. Germany is still the fourth-ranked team in the world.

And they come to India in relatively good nick, near the top of the Pro League standings. Although they don’t have any chart-leading scorers, Germans do have a reputation for doing just enough to get ahead in crunch matches.

Recommended Betting Tip: India (9.00)

2023 Men’s FIH Hockey World Cup Top Scorer Prediction

The following players are the ones to watch out for in the race for the top scorer award at the upcoming Hockey World Cup:

  • Harmanpreet Singh (India)
  • Blake Grovers (Australia)
  • Nick Bandurak (England)
  • Alexander Hendrickx (Belgium)
  • Jeremy Hayward (Australia)

Given how he is the talisman of India and the striker in the hottest run of scoring form by a country mile in 2022, there is no looking past Harmanpreet Singh as the top scorer of the 2023 FIH World Cup.

Prediction: Harmanpreet Singh (India)

How Can I Watch the 2023 FIH Hockey World Cup Matches Live In India?

On TV, the 2023 FIH Hockey World Cup matches will be broadcasted on the Star Sports channel. For live-streaming on mobile or PC, the Disney Hotstar app will have all the hockey live action.

FIH Hockey World Cup Tournament Format

Unlike the FIFA World Cup, the hockey tournament does not have any strict limits on the number of participants. There have been World Cups with 10, 14, and 16 teams. The 2018 event had 16 teams, and the same will also be true for the 2023 World Cup.

Teams are chosen for the event on the basis of qualifying tournaments in Asia, Europe, Africa, America, and Oceania. India automatically qualified for the event as the host. The 16 qualified teams are divided into 4 seeded groups.

The tournament has a round-robin format – in the first round, teams in each group contest for the top spots and qualification to a knockout stage –  in a round-robin format, before heading to a four-stage knockout competition to find the winner.

This is how the groups are drawn for the 2023 FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup:

Australia Belgium Netherlands India
Argentina Germany New Zealand England
France South Korea Malaysia Spain
South Africa Japan Chile Wales

FIH Hockey World Cup Past Winners List

Winner of the Inaugural Tournament Pakistan (1971)
Defending Champions  Belgium (2018)
Country with Most Championships Pakistan (4)
Other Past Champions Netherlands (3), Australia (3), Germany (2), India(1), Belgium(1)

FIH Hockey World Cup – A Quick History

The FIH Hockey World Cup is an international tournament, hosted once every four years, like the Cricket and Football world cups.

The FIH World Cup is scheduled to take place two years after the Olympics, the other major hockey tournament at the international level. But in its first decade, the competition was held bi-annually.

The proposal for an international men’s hockey tournament was floated to the FIH in 1970 by Pakistan. Air Marshal Nur Khan, a prolific hockey administrator in Pakistan, was the driving force behind this proposal.

Pakistan was chosen as the venue for the 1971 FIH World Cup. But due to the war between India and Pakistan, the first venue of the inaugural tournament was shifted to the neutral and peaceful city of Barcelona, Spain.

22bet picks logo

Sportsbook of the Month

Play Now