The BCCI released its central contract lists for the 2019-20 season with a few surprises in store. The previous list had a total of 29 players but the new list has reduced it to 27. These contracts are valid from Oct 2019 to Sep 2020.

There are four types of contracts.

  • At 1 crore Indian rupees, the Grade C contract is the most basic
  • Grade B is the next level, offering a pay of 3 crores
  • Next on the list is the Grade A contract which a remuneration of 5 crores
  • A Grade A+ contract, valued at 7 crores, is the most prestigious

We take a look at the 27 contracted players and which contract they received:

Saini, Thakur awarded Grade C contract

This contract is usually given out to players who have played just a few games for the Indian team. They are yet to find a permanent position in the squad. If a new player without any contract makes his debut during the season, he will automatically receive a Grade C.

The BCCI has handed out a Grade C to Navdeep Saini who has impressed selectors. Khaleel Ahmed was left out.

Players with a Grade C contract include: Navdeep Saini, Kedar Jadhav, Hanuma Vihari, Manish Pandey, Deepak Chahar, Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur and Washington Sundar.

Pandya, Agarwal make Grade B cut

Grade B is given to players who are regularly play for India. Generally, they play only one format and are not regular across all three. Hardik Pandya is currently on a Grade B. It comes as a bit of a surprise as he is India’s number one all-rounder.

However, given he has missed a lot of cricket due to injury and is still in recovery, the BCCI has not given him a Grade A contract.

Other players who have a Grade B contract are: Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Wriddhiman Saha and Mayank Agarwal.

Agarwal, who has established himself as a test opener, will now push for a place in the ODI squad.

Senior members awarded Grade A; Dhoni left out

Cricketers who play more than one format have the comfort of Grade A.

Ambati Rayudu and Dinesh Karthik were among those excluded. It can be assumed that the door has now been closed on their international cricketing careers. The contractual list does not include MS Dhoni either.

Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shikhar Dhawan, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant are all Grade A cricketers.

The selectors have backed Pant to play in all three formats. That Sanju Samson doesn’t have a contract means he has to make a lot of runs in the coming season.

Players With A Grade A+ Contract

The only ones awarded Grade A+ are captain Virat Kohli, vice-captain Rohit Sharma and premier fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah.

22bet picks logo

Sportsbook of the Month

Play Now